After evaluating, rating and ranking the submissions, the Steering Committee will select three finalist teams. Finalist teams will be invited to demonstrate their concepts at an onsite FAA Challenge Forum. Additional details on these deliverables will be communicated to the finalist teams upon selection. Dates and location will be indicated on each year's Challenge Guidelines page.

Travel Reimbursement up to $6,000 will be awarded to each of the three finalist teams to help offset the cost of traveling to the Forum to demonstrate their concepts.

Finalist teams will also be invited to an awards ceremony where a $25,000 prize will be presented to the lead university of the winning team.

A presentation at the William J Hughes Technical Center

The Department of Transportation, Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), is the Federal Agency sponsor of the prize. The Prize Administrator (National Institute of Aerospace, or “NIA”) will administer the award of a single dollar amount to the designated lead academic institution of the winning team. The lead academic institution is solely responsible for allocating any prize funds among its team members as they deem appropriate. The FAA retains sole discretion to select the winning team. The FAA reserves the right to not award the prize if the Steering Committee believes that no submission demonstrates sufficient innovative scientific and engineering potential and/or achievements.